Paleo apple fritters

Well, sort of Paleo.  I have a plethora of apples sitting on my counter and I had a hankering for something special so I made some apple fritters.  I followed this recipe and just substituted gluten free flour for the regular flour and doubled the egg.  They turned out great.  I had the oil a little hot so they were too brown, but otherwise they were pretty darn good.

Apple Fritters

Fritter:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chopped apple

Glaze:

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons milk

Directions:   Combine flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, cinnamon.  Stir in milk and egg until just combined.  Fold in apple.  Pour oil into skillet so that it is approximately 1 1/2 deep.  Heat oil on high.  Oil is ready when dough floats to top.  Carefully add dough to oil in heaping teaspoons.  Cook until brown, about 2 minutes, then flip.  Cook another 1-2 minutes, until both sides are browned.  Transfer briefly to paper towels to absorb excess oil, then transfer to cooling rack.  Make glaze by stirring milk and powdered sugar together in a small bowl.  Drizzle over apple fritters.  Wait approximately 3 minutes for glaze to harden, then flip fritters and drizzle glaze over the other side.  Best served warm.

I paired them up with a roasted in a pan chicken that we all really enjoyed.  Recipe here.  And, the soup base for some chicken soup is already in the pot and ready to be made!

Update: I made the chicken noodle soup and it was enjoyed immensely.  I’m not sure if there is a better soup in the world than chicken noodle soup.

3 responses to “Paleo apple fritters

  1. Oh, yummy! That sounds so good! It’s apple season, and I think I’ll try out this recipe. I’ll let you know how it turns out ;).

  2. They were so easy to make, and so cheap, that I’m almost wondering why I would every buy donuts at the store again?

  3. Flour, sugar and milk…sort of paleo? Not by a mile.

Leave a Reply

