Daily riddle

What do you get when you mix a cast iron grill pan

2-3-07-005.jpg

With a nice juicy, local, pasture raised T-bone

2-3-07-004.jpg

A few spices, a pat of butter and a nice local wheat beer?

2-3-07-011.jpg

A very happy man.

Urp

FGLB

13 responses to “Daily riddle

  1. Well, that food looks pretty darn good. Not too sure about the wheat beer though. I would prefer a Rolling Rock or MGD. lol.

  2. Yum.

    No baked potato with butter and sour cream?

  3. Tasty!

    Whatcha drinking Matt? Got some Millstream brew there? Can’t tell from your photo. Inquirying minds want to know.

  4. I didn’t waste the stomach space on veggies this day. Just meat and beer. I was alone for dinner so I didn’t have to share the steak this time.

    And yes it was a Millstream brew. Those are very tasty, although somewhat pricey. I figure what the heck, I only drink one once in a while so I can afford to spend a little more.

    http://www.millstreambrewing.com/

    If I drank like my brother, price would be my primary concern…

  5. Mmm, Millstream. A trip to the brewery deserves a whole entry in itself. Weirdly, I somehow miss the old labels, back when they were plain Jane. Now they look like a brew pub design and lost the old school Amana feel to them.

  6. If you’re one of those people who like beer that actually tastes like something, but you don’t like spending cash, you’ve gotta try brewing your own. After the initial investment in brewing equipment, which can be under $100, you can brew exactly what you like for less than you could buy it in the store.

    Some types of beer are harder to do than others, but most ales are dead simple. The downside to being able to cheaply produce your favorite type of beer, of course, is that consumption seems to naturally increase…

  7. I might head down to the brewery for a tour. Might be a good topic for the blog, and fun to boot.

    Bart-I’m not sure about making beer. I’m giving serious thought to making Ginger Ale and Root Beer as detailed in Nourishing Traditions, and I guess beer is only a small step further that direction. As far as the quantity goes, I drank enough in college to meet a lifetime or two’s worth of quotas so I definately appreciate quality over quantity now!

  8. I like the Amana colonies, they have that comfortable, old timey, rustic vibe to them. Check out the brewery sometime, it will be worth the trip for the fresh samples at the end. It’s nestled near shops that give you free food and fruit wine samples. It’s free sample heaven!

    Bart, drinking more of my own quality brew is one downside I look forward to. I plan on getting into fermentation of alcohol and food in general. My aunt use to make her own homemade fruit wines and sauerkraut in an old ceramic crock. I plan on doing the same thing and turning that into a regular ritual. I discovered a few people I know homebrew and I plan on approaching them to learn more about it and to eventually trade brews with them.

  9. I’m not a quantity drinker myself anymore, but having a few cases of the good stuff in the basement makes it much easier to give in to temptation versus having to drive to the liquor store and pay through the nose for it.

    I’m partial to Belgian ales myself… I can buy a 4-pack of Duvel at the local store for around $2.50 a bottle, or I can make it myself for about $0.55… hmmm…

    If you’re looking to get into homebrewing, there are a couple of books I strongly suggest you pick up, ‘How to Brew’ by John Palmer, and ‘The Complete Joy of Homebrewing’ by Charlie Papazian. You can pick up either book off of Amazon or at your local homebrew shop. Depending on where in IA you all live, there are a number of stores in the state that can take care of you.

    I started with fermenting alcohol and am now moving on to breads and probably pickling with this summer’s harvest.

  10. I like Belgian ales as well, Chimay in particular. We have an old school English pub themed bar here in Des Moines that has a small bar called the Red Monk located upstairs of the main bar that serves only Belgian beers. The owners also have a German beer hall themed bar and serves only German brews. Those guys have taken a fair share of my paychecks over the years. Time to learn a new skill and save a few bucks to boot.

    Thanks for the book suggestions. I bought the 3rd edition of The Complete Joy of Homebrewing from a used book store recently. I will look for How to Brew next.

    I would like try pickling as well. I signed up with a CSA this year with the intent of using the abundance of veggies from that and my own garden to learn how to preserve food. Have you heard of the book Wild Fermentation from Sandar Katz? a friend has a copy and I’ve only browsed through it. Great resource and addition to the food book collection.

  11. Dan–If you want to try pickling and fermenting veggies make sure to check out the fermented fruits and vegetables chapter of nourishing traditions. There’s some great information in there.

  12. The ‘Wild Fermentation’ book is on my to-get list. The website for the book is interesting as well:

    http://www.wildfermentation.com/

    Also, an old version of ‘How to Brew’ is available online for free:

    http://www.howtobrew.com

    A new version was just released last year, and it’s worth the money IMO.

    And, like Matt states, Nourishing Traditions is an excellent resource for lots of things, including fermenting food.

  13. Geez, is there anything that Nourishing Traditions doesn’t cover? It’s like THE food bible for wholesome, good recipes. I haven’t made it to the fermenting section of NT yet, but will check it out soon. I’m moving in with my girfriend in a couple months, so I’m in a state of flux right now preparing for that. After I move in and get settled, I will start experimention with fermentation and pickling in ernest.

    Bart-thanks for the links! I just ordered Wild Fermentation from Sandor’s webiste. It was a little more than Amazon’s price, $24 including shipping charges, but feel better as the money is going directly to Sandor and not the middleman. Now I need to start buying the storage supplies for all this…

Leave a Reply

