No need to knead

The newest bread recipe I’ve tried is the infamous no-knead bread. (Do a quick Google search and read about all the other people who have tried the recipe) This recipe was first showcased in a NYTimes article. I won’t reproduce it here, but if you click here you can go to the site that I used for the recipe. And you can click here to watch a video showing how to make the bread.

Anyway, this is the long way to say that we really enjoy this bread. A lot. It takes about 15 minutes of prep work total. Well, maybe 20. But either way it’s really cheap on active time and ingredients. And the bread comes out super moist and delicious. You can impress your friends with very little effort.

The key is to have a covered dish large enough to hold the loaf while it’s cooking. (like say a Corning Ware dish or large cast iron Dutch oven or even a bean pot, if it can handle the high temps) The lid traps in the moisture to help get a delicious crust on the outside while the high heat and trapped moisture helps it spring and plump up. You get some nice gluten holes in the bread.

The recipe calls for all white flour, but I prefer some whole wheat in my bread. Plus, I want to use this recipe as a chance to ferment some whole wheat flour to go along with the teachings in my Nourishing Traditions cookbook. By adding half whole wheat I’m still able to get some pop out of the bread that is similar to all white flour, but yet get some of the great nutritional benefits of whole grain. By playing with the amount of time I let the bread rise I should be able to get a nice rise even using all whole wheat. I just haven’t tried that yet.

If you like making bread at home you should give this recipe a try.  Sorry I don’t have a pic.  It disappeared too quickly.  Next time I’ll put one up.

7 responses to “No need to knead

  1. nice post, we aren’t making bread right now–too much canning going on. during the fall and winter bread making ensues in earnest.

  2. I’ve done a modified version of this recipe with 100% whole wheat. I’ve still got some refining to do, but it’s pretty darn good as it is.

    http://cooking.glassbrian.com/2007/05/21/no-knead-bread/

  3. It’s an awesome bread recipe… I seem to make it at least once a week. My family prefers the white flour, so that’s what gets made usually… I’ve also tried using a mix of rye and white flour, and that seems to work pretty well if you like that taste.

    A 4 or 5 quart cast iron Dutch oven works great for this recipe… That’s what I use. The heavy lid helps keep the moisture around the dough, which promotes that thick crust everyone loves.

    If anyone cares, I’ve got pics of several different attempts at this recipe here:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/7249616@N08/tags/bread/

  4. I didn’t know that was the kind you made Bart! Interesting. I undercooked the last loaf which I don’t recommend. It’s still edible but it takes a lot of chewing.

    Brian–How did you ever come across my site? I’ve added your site to my bloglines account. It seems we think along the same lines!

  5. There is just something rewarding and relaxing about kneading the dough. Not sure , my verdict is still out but will give it a try tomorrow. Must admit the ingredient list is ideal.

  6. I agree with you Mom. I like kneading dough, but realistically with my life it making bread doesn’t always fit. And this is a way to get fresh bread without much work.

    You had the bread based on the King Arthur recipe when you’ve been here, and we all think this is as good or better. It is incredibly yeasty/beer smelling, so if you don’t like that you might be turned off by it.

  7. Just came to me. Years ago when I first started making breads and rolls, I came across a very similar recipe called Paupers bread, obviously called that since it did not have sugar or eggs. Not sure if it is the same but the recipe is very familiar.

Leave a Reply

