Cooking up some strange things

Last night when I came home from work I had no idea what I was going to cook for dinner, except that chili might be a possibility. Child #2 and I were the only ones at home so something with beans was in the works, seeing as how we’re the only ones that like beans.

I did make a strange chili concoction. I ended up dumping stuff together and it worked. I sauteed some onions and garlic then added some pulled pork from the fridge. After that had warmed up I dumped in a can of Ro-tel that I found in the cupboard along with a half pound of fresh tomatoes. Then I poured in some homemade chicken broth that I found in back of the fridge. (It still smelled OK) I then liberally sprinkled this mixture with chili powder, some smoked paprika, cumin, oregano and salt.

After this had cooked for a while I put in a sweet red pepper and half a Georgia flame pepper for some heat. I left the lid off to cook the sauce down and then I added a can of chili beans. The end result was a wonderful, sweet, smoky dish that was super good. It was perhaps a little hot (the child proclaimed his tongue was “hot”, but he finished a whole bowl of it) so maybe I’ll leave out the hot pepper next time. And it seemed more like a Mexican dish to stuff a burrito with (which is what I had for breakfast today 🙂 ) but there was enough sauce to enjoy it with some saltines and a nice slice of whole wheat bread with butter.

8-28-07-018.jpg

It’s funny how almost local it was without working that hard, just because the supplies are handy. If I had used a can of tomato sauce (which I debated but decided to save it for the winter) it would have been as local as I could get seeing as how I don’t have access to local chili beans.

This meal also represents a big step for me because I rarely ever make something without a recipe. I’m not typically the type of person who can make up a recipe/dish, but this one worked. Perhaps because you can’t really mess up this type of dish. But either way, that’s a step for me.

After I got that cleaned up I made laundry soap.

Leave a Reply

