Tuesday roundup

I like doing this roundup thing so you can expect to see it more often. A lot of my topics don’t merit a post on their own, but in something like this they are OK.

The busy task of collecting leaves for the garden has already started. While I won’t be competing to collect leaves like last year, I will be collecting as many as I can. The garden ended up being quite successful this summer. Between it and the market our basement is packed with things to eat this winter. I’m still putting together a lessons learned about this past summer.

The conference was great. I’ll have some thoughts up soon about it when I collect them all. Right now I’m floating all over the place trying to figure out what my plan should be in the future. The conference was held in Yellow Spring, OH, which is a great little town. They had some great restaurants and everyone there was really into the environment and being concious of their impact on the earth. Great environment to be in, and tons of great stimulation and conversation.

A few things I am going to work on over the next few months are window insulators, insulation for our walls and sill plates as well as working to seal up all the air leaks in our house. This winter I also have plans to build a trellis outside to help shade our front south facing windows and who knows what else.

I have some cider hardening on our table and it’s starting to look all cloudy and kind of funky. I’m not sure if it’s any good anymore. If you’re reading this Wendy I wouldn’t mind having some input, or anyone else. 10-30-07-014.jpg

When in Yellow Springs I met some online people for the first time. I met Steve, Aaron, E4 and Sharon, among others. Aaron brought gifts. He brought up a luffa for us to have and also this mix cd cleverly title “The world peaked in oil production and all I got was this damn cd”.

We had a new shower installed recently. It’s a ReBath system. I highly recommend it. It’s very nice. Our previous shower was tile and had that standard problem where water got behind it and then the walls started to crack and buckle.

That’s all for now.

10-30-07-009.jpg

How you doin’?

15 responses to “Tuesday roundup

  1. The cloudiness is due to suspended yeast. Our cider is very cloudy. It looks like real German wheat beer – hefe weizen. I don’t mind the cloudiness. It doesn’t change the taste for me, and we decided not to clarify it.

    Here is a really good article, though.
    http://www.motherearthnews.com/Whole-Foods-and-Cooking/2007-10-01/How-to-Make-Hard-Cider.aspx.

    I’d give it a taste. It really doesn’t take that long for it to ferment. If it’s gone too far, you’ll know ;). If it’s too dry (like a very dry wine), you can add honey or sugar to sweeten it up and then bottle it.

    We’re still amatuers at this cider business. We’ve made two attempts and both taste really good, but totally different. But as the guy at the Hop Shop told us, if we like it, that’s what counts ;).

    Oh, welcome back :).

  2. I bottled it up Weds night. It smelled quite fragrant. I’m going to put up some pics and do a taste test after this weekend. We’re heading out of town and didn’t want to try it just in case.

    It ended up fermenting for 2 weeks, so we’ll see if that was too long.

  3. Hey Matt, some info about PEI while I am on here. They use glass bottles with a $.40 deposit for the big ones and$.20 for the smaller ones. I think I would be much more inclined to get my deposit back if it was higher than the nickel in most states. There are no aluminum canned drinks. Beer and pop are both in glass bottles. They have seperate trash for waste, compost, and recycleables. And apparently they check it before they throw it into the different trucks. I got in trouble one time(but not really) for tying up the handles on the waste sack. I asked what the big deal was, and I was told that they have to be able to look into it quickly when they throw it into the truck for compost and recycleables. Figure you would like to know that the island up here is Eco-friendly. 🙂

  4. That’s great. I like how they take it so seriously. I wish more people in the states would.

    It’s good to hear from you. We’re all kind of wondering how you’re doing up there.

    Don’t forget to call on Turkey Day. We’ll all be at mom’s.

  5. I think mom said she is planning on calling here on Turkey day. Remind her that we are 2 hours ahead of you guys though. Things are great up here. We are supposed to be starting in Korea around the 10th. We are awaiting our Visa issuance information. Then off to the embassy with those things. Then we should get our passports with our work visas back within 10 days I hope. I think this weekend it’s gonna happen. 😉 Surely you mom and Rach can figure that one out. lol 😉

  6. New York movers are numerous, but none provide the quality of service that comes from Hercules Movers, the best local, long distance, and international movers.

  7. I Love Your Site. Nearly every post makes me crack up, ponder, and
    learn something.

  8. With havin so much written content do you ever
    run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?

    My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  9. I personally blog as well and I am creating a little something
    very close to this specific article, “Tuesday roundup | Fat Guy on
    a Little Bike”. Would you mind if perhaps Iwork with a number of your own points?
    Thanks for your effort ,Sebastian

  10. I do consider all of the ideas you’ve presented to your post. They’re really convincing and will
    definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for starters.
    May you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?
    Thank you for the post.

  11. I like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  12. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  13. Undeniably consider that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be at the web the easiest
    thing to bear in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst
    people consider worries that they plainly don’t realize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the whole thing without having side effect , other people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  14. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Environmental. Regards

  15. hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up something new
    from right here. I did however expertise a few technical
    issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to
    load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?

    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances
    times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high
    quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.

    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

