The shiny is all gone

Lately I’ve become less and less enamored with blogging, the internet, computers and technology in general.  I don’t know what it is.  For some reason at night now all I want to do is curl up with a book, do things around the house or go to bed.

I’m tired of working late into the night on the computer and being tired the next day.  Tired of reading all the depressing news on the internet and all the blogs.  I’m tired of spending my time that way.

It’s kind of a strange feeling for me.  When I started blogging I wasn’t sure how much I would like it.  I liked it a lot.  I’ve never been a particularly communicative person.  In fact, if you count blogging some days my writing is the most words I put out.   But now it feels like work instead of fun.  I enjoy sharing what I’m doing with all of you readers, but sometimes it feels like work.

Maybe I put the pressure on myself.  I could be trying to do too many things.  I’ve been known to do that sort of thing.  It doesn’t help that what I’ve been putting up here isn’t really good stuff lately.  Sure book reviews and cooking stuff is fun and all, but for some reason it just isn’t grabbing me anymore.  Maybe because I’m not delving enough into it.  Perhaps I’m trying to be abrest of too many different things and my mind if overloaded.

If I seriously think about all the things I’ve educated myself about over the past two years it’s kind of amazing really.

Preserving food, gardening (and all that goes with this), composting, biking, cooking locally, cooking with what’s in the fridge, making bread, making use of produce in bread, asian cooking, indian cooking, global warming, Peak Oil, oil dependency, economics (more than in the past even), stock investing, self directed IRAs, more real estate knowledge than I already had, water conservation, politics, taxation, history,  plus all the stuff I’m learning about to teach my kids.   Plus much much more.

For some reason right now sitting down at this computer to write these things out isn’t what I want to be doing.

Maybe I just need a kick in the ass.

Leave a Reply

