It’s been so long

Sorry I’ve been away for so long folks. A sick child, then sick parents, shopping for a new car, home projects and some very interesting books have all conspired to keep away from the blog for far too long. I’m getting back in the flow again though.

Speaking of a sick child, we had to take him to the Dr. It’s the first time a child has been to the doctor other than well child visit for quite some time. Possibly 14 or 15 months, if I remember correctly. Then of course I had to go. It has been at least 18 months for me. It’s all that local, non processed food!

We did buy a new car recently, which I’ll be writing up in the near future for Groovy Green. Shopping for a car when you’re eco conscious is an interesting experience.

Not a huge surprise, but the housing market shit has finally hit the fan. I read a WSJ blurb last week that stated that all the investment banks have reported over $100Billion in losses so far. And that was before the string of announcements this week.  Seems as though the economy is heading for a recession or maybe worse.

The idiot in charge is talking about sending out rebates for us strapped Americans.  Unfortunately I haven’t met too many people who plan to spend it if they get.  Most plan to save it or use it to payoff a debt.  I’m not sure that’s exactly what they have in mind for it, but what can you expect?  I plan to use it to buy some staple foods and then save the rest!  Hey, I’m no worse than the rest.  Of course, I feel really bad about the fact that my kids and grandkids will have to pay for this stupid attempt at a bailout.

That’s all for now.  Hopefully work will slow down some so I can do a little more writing.

9 responses to “It’s been so long

  1. What kind of rebates are you talking about? And why wouldn’t people spend it if they get it?

  2. Hey Matt, was wondering what was up with the MIAFGLB. Heck, I think I have surpassed you for blog posts it he past 2 weeks. hahahahaa. What are the rebates? Are they only for home owners? If so, then that sucks, cuz I won’t get one. LOL. deuces

  3. Yeah, what is the rebate? I did hear a blurb on the radion but was not really paying attention since was trying to navigate on icy streets, rare in these parts.
    Yep, little bro has been pounding the keys very well and quite interesting.

  4. You guys need to read more news or something.

    Check out this story. There are a million out there.
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/story/2008/01/22/ST2008012203684.html

  5. For a minute there I was worried that their plan was just to let the whole thing crash and let the demand destruction postpone action on energy availability and reduce carbon emissions the hard way. Then I saw that silly tax rebate stuff and realized that they’re not ready to throw in the towel just yet. It’s clear that our government doesn’t understand that the system itself is flawed and needs *replacing* not fixing.

  6. I’m not sure how clear that is, Aaron. There are major systemic problems in the US (& world for that matter) financial system. A $145 billion stimulus package isn’t much more than a band-aid to try and provide a short term jolt to the economy.

    I have yet to read Klein’s “The Shock Doctrine,” but I’m familiar with the basic concepts, and it sure seems like those in charge are doing little to truly address the major financial problems and are instead trying to keep things barely moving along (perhaps until after the elections?) until we finally hit the tipping point and things really start happening.

    The best way to affect major social/political change is when TSHTF, as it were. It sounds like carbon taxes & the like are coming, and along with it will come increased prices for food & energy, and a lowered standard of living for many if not most Americans. Since it’s unlikely that Americans will voluntarily reduce their standard of living and pay more for basic staples, the best way for that to happen is to let everything crumble, and once the dust settles institute new policies as ways to ‘keep crisis from happening again.’ People will grumble and think that the new standard of living sucks, but they’ll also decide it’s better than rioting & gas lines.

    Ordo ab Chao…

  7. Actually I fluctuate back and forth on this idea- one day believing the powers that be want to continue with business as usual and the next believing they would rather crash the system and reconfigure it to their liking.

    I made my comment above because for The Shock Doctrine to work you have to have shock. A slow, catabolic collapse won’t smoothly pave the way for sweeping changes. For that a fast crash is more desirable. I saw the opportunity for the begin of such an event yesterday and the Fed took an almost unprecedented step to avert it. It looked to me as if they purposefully avoided the tipping point you mentioned.

  8. Fair point, Aaron.

    It’s hard to say what’s going on. Letting things collapse all of a sudden would be easy, but it would also become apparent to a number of people that those in charge let it happen, which would cause more unrest than would be preferable. The idea is to make people desperate, not foment revolt.

    I think that a collapse of sorts can take months to play out and still be considered ‘fast.’ The Fed took a drastic step and only managed to slow down the bleeding. We’re still in the opening phases of this process, and I am wondering about how many more magic bullets Washington can use to try and keep the shell game going.

    I’ll be very curious to see how the economy plays into the elections this November, and how different the candidates’ approaches to it will be then as compared to now.

  9. I wrote my two Senators begging them not to allow this stimulus package to go through, and after I sent my letter, I realized that one of my Senators (Olympia Snowe) is actually on the committee that is pushing this package. I even used the same analogy of the Band-Aid that Bart uses above.

    I just don’t understand how so many average people can see the fallacy in this kind of program, and the people who are supposed to be running this country don’t. It’s crazy!

    No one I know who will be getting this rebate plans to spend it – at least not in the way the government hopes they will. It will either go into savings or go to pay down debt. As for me, I’d like to cash it and hide the cash under my mattress – no, I won’t give you my address ;).

Leave a Reply

