Local Meals for Feb 15 & 16

Friday the 15th

Breakfast-2 bowls of leftover chicken noodle soup.  (Hey, if it’s in the fridge it’s fair game)

Lunch-Leftover stir fry from the previous Sunday.  Valentine treats.

Snack-Popcorn

Dinner-New stir fry with carrots, peas, onions, cabbage, sweet potatoes and chicken.  2 egg rolls.  Applesauce.  Sticky rice

A friend who is from Laos gave me a Thai steamer for Christmas, so I used it to make sticky rice for the first time.  Very good.  I love sticky rice.  They also hooked me up with some special seasoning sauce (really good soy sauce).  The stir fry was the best ever.  The sauce in it was crazy good.  5 tb seasoning sauce, 3 tb fish sauce, 1 tb oyster sauce, 2 tb brown sugar, 3 tb arrow root powder, 1/2 cup chicken stock, a little veggie oil, dash of cayenne pepper.  Add to veggies and enjoy.

Carrots, cabbage, onion are organic.  Chicken and sweet potatoes are local (and leftover from Tuesday’s dinner).  Applesauce is homemade.  Egg rolls were premade frozen ones.  (I’m all out but I fixed that today).  Sticky rice is bulk, but probably from Thailand or Vietnam.

February 16th 

Breakfast-Bacon, fried potatoes with onions, eggs

Bacon, potatoes and eggs local.  Onions organic.

Lunch-Quesadillas, western beans, applesauce, carrots, brownie

Tortillas were the same as the other day, cheese was local and organic, peppers in quesadilla were local.  Beans were local, as were peppers and ham hock in the beans.  Applesauce is homemade.  Carrots are organic.   Brownie is homemade.

Dinner-Chicken and cheesy shells with peas and carrots.  Roasted carrots, applesauce, brownie.

Chicken, cheese, butter and milk are local.  Stock, brownie and applesauce is homemade.  Peas and carrots are organic.

Today I also made a new batch of egg rolls for my freezer.  Egg rolls are easy to make if you’ve thought ahead and have some stir fry leftover.  Most of the time an egg roll recipe tells you to basically make a stir fry, on a smaller scale, for the stuffing.  Well I dumped the leftover stir fry on a cutting board, diced it all up and then stuffed the egg rolls.  Put them on a cookie sheet in the freezer and now they are all individually frozen ready to pull out and cook in the future.  I also made up a second batch of stuffing with some leftover chicken, shredded cabbage and shredded carrots.  I ended up with about 15 egg rolls.  I would normally make these in the summer to take advantage of the fresh produce.  This coming summer I’ll have to plan ahead more when I make them.

You may also have noticed that I’ve been having cabbage.  It’s not local.  If I had been thinking I could have bought some and stored it through this winter.  But this is perhaps the first time I’ve ever had cabbage, so I’m experimenting.  I know I don’t like fermented cabbage, so I’m trying to find other ways to use it.  If I can find ways to prepare it I’ll be able to store it in the cellar next year.  Winter is my time to experiment a little, which leads to off season food purchases.  But I don’t have as much time in the summer to experiment.

Leave a Reply

