Making peanut butter

We decided to make peanut butter today. Organic brands are expensive, and I can get bulk organic peanuts, so what the heck.

I combined about a pint of peanuts (I spilled some on the floor which was not very pleasant), a pinch of salt, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and at the end we determined it needed just a little sugar. We added 1/2 tsp.

sta710402.jpg

Run that in the food processor for about 2-3 minutes until it’s the consistency you want.

sta710442.jpg

Homemade peanut butter has a much deeper and robust peanut flavor. We added just enough sugar for it to pop, but not to be overly sweet. They’ll have it with honey or jam anyway, so that’s enough sugar. Comparing to what we had in the cabinet it was much less sugary. It’s very good. You should give it a try.

Here’s a video showing the steps.

This cost us about $2 for the half a pint, not counting the massive amount of peanuts I spilled on the floor. If I’m able to grow my own peanuts in the future this will cost us even less, although the amount of work will increase exponentially.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Making peanut butter

  1. So cool! The peanut butter we buy is SO expensive, but it’s some organic brand my kids really like. Now, I’m thinking I need to replace my food processer that died on me a couple of weeks ago so that I can try making peanut butter.

    Looks yummy!

  2. I used a very small processor that my mother in law gave me. I’ve seen them laying around at second hand places. They’re too small to really be used like a normal processor. Check out those places.

  3. By the way, my son said the peanut butter was fantastic today at lunch.

Leave a Reply

