Poisonwood Bible

I just finished reading the Poisonwood Bible and I have to tell you it’s a great book. It’s written by Barbara Kingsolver, who also wrote a locavore favorite, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I don’t want to give away the plot of the book, but it involves a family of missionaries, Congo (now known at Zaire), civil war, political involvement, children and a startling look at poverty and how your judgment is developed based on your life experiences. There is also a very strong political message about America’s involvement with the rest of the world.

Check it out if you get a chance. Since I started reading some of the classic literature books (this one is on the list although it’s fairly new) this one is a very close second to Grapes of Wrath for my favorite books.

6 responses to “Poisonwood Bible

  1. Where do the Calvin and Hobbes books rank on your list?

  2. I LOVED this book. It is one of my favorites. I’d read other stuff by Kingsolver before the Poisonwood Bible, but it remains one of my favorites.

    Sarah Erdman wrote a really fascinating account of her work as a Peace Corps worker in Africa in her book “Nine Hills to Nambonkaha.” You might find it to be an interesting non-fiction follow-up the Kingsolver’s book ;).

    What’s next on the reading list?

  3. I’ve been reading a ton of stuff. I’m planning to post a quarterly report. I’m reading The Sound and the Fury, War & Peace, a book called Transition Handbook (how to transition to local solutions after Peak Oil) and also a book about sustainable ethanol.

    I move around based on how I’m feeling that day.

    I read Kunstler’s new fiction book about life after Peak Oil. It was very good too.

  4. I loved The Poisonwood Bible, and I love all her stuff. Maybe not her best writing, but the most agrarian of her books is my favorite _Prodigal Summer_ – definitely worth a read.

  5. One of my favorite books, too:) Anything by Barbara Kingsolver is amazing…

    Great blog! I will be back often.
    Susan
    http://www.organicsyes.wordpress.com

  6. cleanerplateclub

    Only catching up on blog reading now after my vacation. I loved, loved, loved this book. I actually read it while in West Africa, during my first couple of weeks after arriving, and I tell you – it was truly like she was standing behind me, writing my own experience. I don’t think Prodigal Summer is as good a book, but you’d love the topic – farming and pesticides.

Leave a Reply

