Water, Water Everywhere

It’s a sad day today. I fear that my little garden plot is completely flooded. I heard on the news that they are expecting the flooding this year to set the all time record for the Cedar River. Even if that doesn’t happen I know the plot will be under plenty of water. My only hope is that it recedes quickly so maybe the plants won’t rot.

It’s too bad really. The plot was growing nicely and had a ton of stuff growing. It was more weeds than produce, but that’s OK, I can pick those out. If the water stays on there too long the beans will wilt and die. I assume the potatoes will too.

I shouldn’t be surprised. When you plant in a flood plain that’s to be expected, although the water this year is way more than usual. Even our snowfall this year was way above the norm (within 2 inches of the all time record). We started out the year wet.

I fear more for our nations food supply. The fields are under water. It’s too wet to drive anything onto them. Corn was already in short supply. I don’t expect it will be any better after this wet spring. As far as I can tell all of Iowa East of I-35 are so water logged that the fields will be worthless for about a month or so, well, the ones that are anywhere near water at least, which is most of them. That doesn’t bode well for corn or soybean prices.

In other news, my garden at home is handling the water fine. Further confirms for me the benefits of having a ton of organic matter in the soil. In fact, the soils at home look like they could soak up a lot more water even. The grass is muddy and squishy but the garden beds are still very workable and loamy. Things are still growing great and there isn’t any standing water in any of them. The benefit of raised beds, compost, leaves, grass clippings and other amendments.

I’m going to have to get more seeds lined up so that when the water does recede I can replant. I’ll have to plant different items this time around because of the reduced time frame for the harvest. Should be an interesting challenge.

11 responses to “Water, Water Everywhere

  1. Unless my reasoning is flawed, this bodes WELL for the price of beans and corn….it’s the yields that will suffer.

  2. Another data point: The USDA’s Commodity Credit Corporation (the body that, among other things, buys up surplus food products to support prices and coordinate foreign food relief efforts) is more or less empty right now.

    http://www.fsa.usda.gov/Internet/FSA_File/wid2a.pdf

    I have no idea what it means to have food ‘loaned out (would you really want it back after it’s been ‘used’???), but this doesn’t give me a warm fuzzy that the government would be able to help anyone out in the near future.

  3. How is Rach, Z and E handling all this water? I am sure it is intruding on their pool time. lol

  4. Interestingly, we’ve been having a really, REALLY dry spring so far. I haven’t heard any grumbles of “drought” here, but we have had some days where the fire danger levels were pretty high.

    I hope things dry out for you there, pretty soon … and that maybe we can get a few more rain days here ;). It’s nice when everything is in balance … but that’s not the way of the world these days, is it?

  5. Cheri-You are correct that it would cause bean and corn prices to go higher, but, I was looking at the situation from the viewpoint that people are already having a hard time with food prices, and another large increase next year would be tough to handle. Plenty of Americans are already food insecure not even considering all the people in other countries who can’t afford the price increases we’ve already seen.

  6. Rach and the boys drove past the garden last night and it was completely flooded. I was busy filling sand bags. I hear the waters going to breach over the top of the levees. If that happens there will be a lot of trouble. A lot.

  7. I’m sorry about the garden – on the other hand, river flooding does bring back a lot of fertility, so next year’s garden should be good – small cosolation, I know.

    Sharon

  8. Welcome to the wonderful world of gardening.
    Little consotation but we have been having an excessive amount of rain, too. When was the last big flood in Keosauqua? Early ’90’s or late 80’s, I remember Lacey and I took a lot of stuff down to Keosauqua, was flooded up to main street there.

  9. The last time I was around a big flood was ’93 when I sandbagged in Keosaqua or Burlington. I can’t remember which.

    We’ve already passed the ’93 levels and the river here won’t crest for 2 more days.

  10. YOWZER!!!!!

    do not remember you sandbagging, good job

  11. Hang in there, Matt. Too bad about your garden. Hopefully your water plant levee holds. I lived through the 1993 floods in Des Moines and went almost 2 weeks with no running water. It wasn’t very fun, but brought the community together. I sandbagged back then and even shook hands with Prez Clinton when he visited the sandbag site.

    We’re taking on a lot of water in the Capitol City since they opened up the spillway last night, but not as bad as your area. With any luck the downtown won’t get as flooded as in 93.

Leave a Reply

