A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

Man, tons of updates.

OK, sorry to disappear for so long but it is sooo crazy around here right now. What have I been doing?

Friday, Sat and Sunday I helped demolish the interiors of 2 houses. The houses were ripped down to the studs. Immense piles of rubbish were piled on the curbs. Have you ever used a wheelbarrow inside a house before? It’s interesting. Makes it easy to haul out the material, especially when you have a 4 ft high ramp down the front stairs. As we said while were were doing the work; if it wasn’t such a tragedy we’d say we were having a good time. We had a lot of help which helps the work go fast. I hope all the volunteers don’t burn out too fast though. This recovery will take a long time and we’ll need everyone for a long time to make it happen.

I’ve got more thoughts on the flooding, but too much other stuff going on. This is a critical time in the rehab because the houses have to be torn up and opened up to dry out to keep away all the mold and other bad things away. My sister is trying to organize a mission trip up here from AR, which would be very good for all of us.

When I wasn’t doing that I was too damn tired to do much else. Between those three days I spent about 22 hours yanking apart houses and picking up trash. Enjoyed some nice lunches which were donated by the Red Cross and area churches. I need to get on my church about why churches that are flooded can provide food but my church can’t, or hasn’t so far. I have to tell you, we hit a Mexican place Friday night with some friends (1 couple that is flooded out that we helped on Sat and Sun and our friends that they are staying with (flood victims brother)) and I have never had a beer taste so good as that night. Man, that was a good beer.

While this is going on my wife decided to paint the family room. Yeah. Really. So the house is torn apart and the room is partially done. It does look better already with trim and some primer in place, but bad timing I’d say. This weekend we might be able to get it finished. When the demolition at the houses is finished then they are left alone to dry for a while.

When I was at home I tried to keep up with the garden. The rabbit and woodchucks are eating too much stuff, so they are going to have to be removed. My wife is getting a trap and we’ll trap them and move them down to the nearby park or creek area. Things are coming along very well out there, not withstanding the rodent damages. We are being well supplied of lettuce still. The warm weather plants are growing well even though it’s been cooler than normal. When I have a few hours I’m going to get back to the garden plot and get some things planted. Specifically the long season plants of melons and squashes need to get in the ground soon. I have to worry about how contaminated the soil might be though.

Then of course one child had a stomach bug yesterday, but seems to have kicked it in one day (I wonder if it was something he ate at Grandma’s as she was sick too and he got better as soon as he starved all day). And the other child came home with critters in his hair. So massive cleaning, delousing and haircutting was undertaken last night. Oh, and it’s VBS week so that’s going on from 6:30-8:30, so both kids are up later than usual as the younger one won’t go to sleep until the older one gets home (mostly) and the older one goes to bed around 9 now instead of 8. Even though kids having critters is “normal” it still makes me feel like a failure as a parent.

Whew, I’m tired just writing that. I was able to can 7 pints and 7 half pints of strawberry jam last night. And I just found a recipe for strawberry-rhubarb jam (from the Zahn Zone) which I’ll be trying this week with some of the remaining strawberries. I’ve eaten so many strawberries lately that I think my hair has been replaced by a green stem. At least I don’t have to worry about strawberries not being available this year.

8 responses to “A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

  1. YUM!

    Strawberry Rhubarb jam, would could better than that?

    You are a busy busy family(:

  2. I have dealt with bugs in the hair, too. All the reassurances that lice like clean hair better then dirty hair seems a minor consolation when you are trying to sift through very fine hair and keep a toddler sitting still. You are lucky to have boys who can easily get short hair cuts to make it easier. It takes me about 6-8 hours to go through my 4 girls’ long hair.

  3. On top of everything else a new body to the mix for a week. ME!!
    Hair critters are just a natural passage of childhood. Anytime children are together there is a strong possibility.
    Hang in there.
    See ya Friday.

  4. nits are easy….one application olive oil or heavy duty conditioner…comb with fine tooth comb…leave 10 mins, re comb and wash. Repeat in three and five days. To be extra sure I usually do it after a week as well.

  5. In my defense, I started the painting before I knew we would be able to get into the houses to demolish them. And, just so ya’ll know, I helped with the demolishing too. I would never selfishly focus on painting a room when I have friends that have no house. Just wanted to clear that up for ya’ll.

    And, we don’t have woodchucks. I believe they are chipmunks.

  6. I was wondering how you were coping. You make my life seem sane and easy. I’m sorry things are so rough up there for you all.

  7. Thanks all. Sometimes getting the stress out in a post like that makes me feel better, but now the week is over and we’ll settle down a little.

  8. I love that Rach used the word ya’ll.. TWICE!! haha!!

Leave a Reply

