It’s Contaminated I Tell You!

Danger Will Rogers!  Danger!

The city has posted “keep out, contaminated soil” signs at the garden plot.  So now I’m wondering if I should really be concerned or if I should sneak back to plant something.  I see other people back there planting things so I’m not sure.

If I don’t plant any food perhaps I should plant some cover crops?

Do any of you have any opinions?

2 responses to “It’s Contaminated I Tell You!

  1. I was only thinking about topsoil washing away, I never realized, obvious as it may seem that the waters could have imported badstuff to the garden. I suggest something like comfrey, I hear its good at reconditioning soil. Plant a couple trees if you’ve got the space maybe.

    Every day I find out some new aspect of the flood that really makes my heart sink. There but for the grace of god go us all.

  2. I would think about getting a soil sample to the Extension office to see what it might be contaminated with. If it is just bacteria, some sunshine and time for nature to clean things up, might be all you need, so plant something to improve the soil for next year. Look around at http://www.pfaf.org. I think they have a few lists of plants that are bioaccumulators. I agree with the previous comment, comfrey is probably a good one, but you might have a hard time getting rid of it.

Leave a Reply

