Pizza it is

At times I often ponder the strangest things. For the life of me I could not figure out why pizza was such a huge deal at birthday parties. Yeah, pizza is good (unless it’s the pizza from Chuckie Cheese) but why the hell do kids love it so much?

I think I’ve figured out the mystery. It’s the parents pushing the pizza, not the kids. The kids like it, but now that I’ve had to deal with birthday parties and cake and screaming kids I totally understand pushing pizza on them. It’s so easy and most the time you can have a different person make it. From what I can tell the kids would like just about anything because they are just so damn excited to be in the moment having a party. But the parents are way more calculating and conniving than that. Oh yeah. You parents know what I’m talking about.

Totally get it. Just though you might want some analysis on that.

9 responses to “Pizza it is

  1. it is hella easy, but pizza is one of those magical foods that can be either quick and dirty slop, or some of the most artfully crafted gastronomically delightful food you will ever taste.

    Cheap pizza gives the good stuff a bad rap.

    But I agree, it is a really quick and easy way to feed a large number of people. Hence its enduring appeal.

    (its also a great way to get rid of some extra garden veggies you have too much of, like summer squash.) yes, summer squash and pan roasted potatoes on pizza. Wash that down with a little red wine… man I cant wait for summer again.

  2. Also, It’s not much mess, and no utensils required. I have a birthday party coming up for my soon to be 7 year old, and you guessed it…pizza.

  3. welcome to the initiated(:

    Another nice thing about pizza, easy cleanup and you can have many varieties with minimal hassle.

  4. All this talk about pizza. Got me to thinking about the way your grandma used to make pizza when we were little. Nothing like today. It was home made ketchup, spices, cheese an hambuger. Then also sliced banana’s with miracle whip an chopped nuts on them. Was not so easy back then for pizza. Oh yea an home made pizza dough. Thought I would throw that bit memory in their.

  5. Oh yeah, Becky!! What fun and memories.

    Matthew does make his own dough, yum!

  6. We’re way ahead of you Kory. Pizza and stir fry are the two things I cook that use up leftovers from the fridge.

    Last week we had sweet potato pizza with carmalized onions. It was very good. The week before I put some leftover pasta carbonara on the pizza. It was good too, although a little dry. It’s fun to try different things on it.

  7. Mom and Becky–Heck yeah I make my own dough. I roll it out very thin too so that it’s crunchy on the bottom and just thick enough to hold all the toppings.

  8. I tried to make homemade pizza last week and the dough didn’t cook enough, so when I put it back in the oven the cheese burned… so I guess I won’t be doing that again. Today in Sunday school the kids in my class learned about senses and so they had to draw something they liked to taste, smell, touch, etc. well, 5 out of the 6 kids either put pizza for their taste or smell or both. I was thinking.. Jeez, there is better things than pizza.

  9. Well, try again. Don’t quit just because it didn’t work well the first time. My stuff doesn’t always work well.

    Sometimes if you cook the crust partway before you top the pizza that will help with your problem.

Leave a Reply

