RIP little chicken

I went out to the coop yesterday to take care of the chickens and one of them was dead.  I can’t really figure out how it died.  It does look like trauma of some sort.  There are feathers all over the place and the carcass was pretty mangled.  But, I can’t find a hole anywhere in the fencing or a hole that something dug under the fencing.  The carcass wasn’t eaten either, it was just kind of chewed up.  It’s possible that the other chicken killed it, but it doesn’t have that appearance, although I have no experience with dead chickens.

It’s kind of a strange feeling.  I’m a lot sadder about this dead chicken than I expected to be.  I’m not really sure why.  I guess because in some way it seems like a failure on my part by not taking care of them somehow.  This really throws up the question of what to do with the other chicken.  I’ve read that you shouldn’t have just one of them, but I don’t really want to give it away.  I guess I’ll have to make plans to pick up a couple more this next spring.

Wish I knew which chicken it was.  Either Poke or Brownie.  Gotta tell the boys sometime still.  I have a feeling they will be upset.

5 responses to “RIP little chicken

  1. Sound more like a predator….walk around your coop and think like a weasel (or mink or raccoon)
    I find raccoons will eat choice bits off a chicken and leave the rest for you to clean up and cry over.
    Good luck and don’t give up.

  2. Sorry about the chicken and do not have a solution to your dilemma.

  3. A weasel can fit through a hole the size of a quarter (so I hear), and a raccoon can eat a chicken through the chicken wire. In addition, a raccoon will only eat, as Julie mentioned, the head and crop and leave the rest.

    Chickens are flock animals. Your other hen will need a companion through the winter. If you can’t find another one to bring home, you might want to find a temporary winter home for her until you can get a few more “sisters” for her.

  4. I’m so sorry! I hit that submit button too fast …

    What I meant to say was that I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. I’ve lost chickens to raccoons in the past, and it was not fun. The hardest part was telling my girls, and my eight year old has always taken such news particularly hard.

  5. since moving my chickens to the farm, i’ve taken to leaving a baited have-a-heart trap outside the coop.

    to date i’ve caught 2 raccoons, 1 kitten and a chicken. the kitten and the chicken we’re removed unharmed.

Leave a Reply

