Mac, Cheese and More

Yesterday for dinner I cooked some Mac and Cheese, which claims to be the best Mac and Cheese recipe in the world.  I think they might be right.  I cut the recipe in half and still fed us all with 3 leftover lunch meals (which are very generous), so keep that in mind.  The recipe is extremely cheesy, too cheesy in fact.  But it’s still really, really good.  It’s incredibly rich so it’s hard to eat much more than 1 serving of it.

You may remember all the rolls I made for Christmas.  Well, I overshot the required amount so now our freezer is stuffed with rolls that I’m trying to find creative ways to eat.  If you have any ideas feel free to let me know.  I’ve already done chicken and noodles (minus the chicken) and poured that over a couple.

I was rummaging around in my junk drawer yesterday looking for a twist tie, and I was having a hard time finding one.  It’s normally not that hard to find one, but then I realized they are in short supply because I don’t buy bread anymore.  Just an interesting side effect of cooking more things at home.  I wonder what I’ll do when I don’t have any at all?

I’m making some Tex-Mex for dinner today, so I started up some beans this morning already.  I stuck my finger in my eye after touching the peppers.  Someday I’ll learn.  Man that stings.

I came across this site discussing how cooking was done in Medieval Times.  I’ve found it quite interesting.  It’s called Gode Cookery.

5 responses to “Mac, Cheese and More

  1. Too cheesy? TOO cheesy? Impossible, Matt…IMPOSSIBLE. 😉 It is pretty freaking rich, though — I will definitely grant you that. Glad you and your family enjoyed it, and happy New Year to you!

  2. Make some good ole bread pudding, topped with whipped cream or ice cream and chock full of raisens or dried cranberries,. YUMMY!!

    There is always any gravy but SOS does come to mind. Take the night off and have wifey make it, she does a mean SOS and I do not mean calling for take out!!

    But bread pudding is my first choice..

  3. Hey, don’t drag me into this! You are right, I CAN cook SOS! That is b/c it only requires 3 ingredients. I am all about the 3 ingredient meals! Ha ha!

  4. Made this dish last night. Thanks FG, what a mac and cheese! It was awesome and we’ll have plenty for left overs. Thanks for posting this recipe.

  5. Thanks JW. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a comment